The Weber House

The Weber House

Old Riverside Foundation

The Weber House

The Peter J. Weber House, ca. 1932 — 1938 (Headquarters of Old Riverside Foundation)

Peter J. Weber was chief designer for the architectural firm of G. Stanley Wilson. Mr. Weber applied his talents to the International Rotunda at the Mission Inn, Redlands Post Office, and many other Wilson projects.

After a visit to North Africa, Weber began building his own house. Influenced by his travels, the Weber house is a unique blend of Moorish, Craftsman, Art Nouveau, and Art Deco styles.

Notable not only for its unique design, the Weber house features extraordinary handcrafted design details. Extensive interior woodwork is hand-carved and/or decoratively painted. Most ceilings are of pine planks, some carved and painted. All hinges are of wrought-iron and all doors and cabinets have decorative nail heads.

The Weber house is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and is recognized locally as City Landmark #52

Mr. Weber installed a solar water heater in 1935 with collector panels made of automobile windshields. All of the exterior brick was used, mostly reclaimed from packing houses that had been torn down, and the broken tile which makes up the incredible bathroom mosaic was also recycled. Exterior woodwork was oiled and stained with used crankcase oil. Basement areas help to keep the house cool in the summer.

An early tower which would have unified the bedroom and bathroom with the living room, kitchen, and garage was designed but never built.

The nine acres of orange groves which originally surrounded the Weber house are now home to two modern hotels. Owners of the (then) Days Inn Hotel began a restoration of the house which is now being completed by the Old Riverside Foundation.

An original sketch (left) from Peter J. Weber, of the north side of the house, to compare with the current view, right.

Click Images to enlarge

Quick Links

Additional Resources

© 2018 Old Riverside Foundation | Created by : Go Channel Marketing